Capella and Pioneer Village

Well today started off with a warm breakie in the Camp kitchen at Rolleston and petrol at Springsure before stopping at Capella to stretch my legs. I didn’t notice these images across from the Newsagent last time I came through and I also found out about the Pioneer Village. What a bonus that it is open Sundays and Thursdays.

Th Pioneer Village is close to town on the LH side towards Clermont. It has the largest restored drop plank homestead in Australia (no nails in the walls) from Peak Downs. What a magnificent building. My how the rich could have multi roomed luxurious surroundings. Two fire places and chandeliers in the lounge!

Gordon Downs station Woolshed is spectacularly displayed as pics show There is also the shearers quarters, and Stations Store.

With 17 buildings to explore including a cinema this display is very well labelled and for value for money at $15 for up to 4 hours exploration it out and out beats Herberton’s Historic Village in my opinion.

And finally the souvenir…

Leave a Comment